we are all made of arts


Last night was great.

And not just because I stayed in, ate cherry pie a la mode, and spent time with my favorite Bird Lady. I also had a series of fascinating conversations [somewhat simultaneously; insert begrudging sense of appreciation for the immediacy of modern technology]. All of them were focused-one way or another- on creativity, art, and how we as people-beings express ourselves with them.

"The basis of art is truth, both in matter and in mode."

At one point, Chris-who had called me looking to collaborate on a project-said, “I knew you were an artist, so I figured we should.”

“What kind of thing did you have in mind?” I asked him. I was flattered, but confused. He forgot to call me a blogger. He had just said I was an artist, and I had this odd compulsion to clear the air as a result.

But as we were talking, I remembered. I write songs often. I paint occasionally. I draw in little notebooks. I even sing, when the opportunity [a gracious audience full of gentle souls I probably know very well] presents itself.

And I thought about Patti Smith for the first time in a while.

"When I was younger, I felt it was my duty to wake people up. I thought poetry was asleep. I thought rock n' roll was asleep."

At any given time, she has been a writer, a singer, a model, a photographer, an actress, a songwriter, a visual artist [painting, drawing, collage], and a poet: probably all at the same time. She has the right idea. She is an artist. Art is her medium.

The more I thought about it, the more I realized that- in an effort to explain my quirks in a concise fashion-I had been cheating myself. Limits are for the professionals and mathematicians. They are not for me to impose on my own creativity or desire to learn.

So, I guess what I’m saying is. I’m not “just a blogger” anymore than someone who paints is “just a painter”. We are all artists.

So, do what you love. Find something new. Try everything. Learn from it all. Enjoy all the parts of who you are.

2 thoughts on “we are all made of arts

  1. Loved this post…I frequently fantasize of a life filled with doing only creative things and living off of what I love…writing.

    In college I decided to get a business degree because it was safe. Now that I’m only one semester away from being done, I am terrified of spending the rest of my life in some office….doing the same thing every day.

    Do what you love…I couldn’t agree with you more. I’ll probably skip the business world, not use my degree and end up being very hungry most of the time :P, but on the bright side at least I’ll be happy doing what I love!

    I have now officially turned into that commentor blabbing on and on…oh well!

    Like

Leave a Reply

