teach your children well


My priest told me recently, “Try to look at each person as your teacher. Figure out what it is you can learn from them.” Boy-oh-boy, between Experience and Other People, there sure are a lot of opportunities for me to learn lately. Of course, that is not all bad [and it’s really ‘not any bad’], since the onslaught of lessons-to-be-learned ensures that I remain a child before G*d.

But the truth is, the climate of my life right now remains a bit difficult for me to accept. There are times, with my perspective, that it seems to look like this:

well, dang

Of course, I have a lot to be thankful for. . . my friends, the love of my family, a thriving city to live in and explore. . . all these things and more are reminders that I haven’t been abandoned. But I still feel unrest.

This morning, my mom and I were talking about a job interview I had this past week, “You’ll get it, if it’s God’s will,” she said. To which I responded, “It would be nice if that would be God’s will, for once.”

My response to my mom’s attempt to help me process a difficult circumstance reminds me of something Flannery O’ Connor once said, “I don’t deserve any credit for turning the other cheek as my tongue is always in it. [In that sentiment-and in a few other ways- she and I seem well-matched. ]

I’m not bitter, I promise. It’s just that, as a person used to situations where working hard enough will get you what you’re aiming for, I feel confused having to wait. Of course, the longer you have to wait, the more likely your grapes are to sour. But, unless you wait long enough, you’ll never be able to enjoy their wine.

So, I suppose that-as with anything else-appearing to have scores to learn from Life and its Lessons is what you make it. Or, to follow one cliche with another, it’s all in how you look at it.

So, at the end of the day, I may seem stubborn. I may cry and whine and complain. I may have to sit in the corner for a while. But I am still a Beloved Child, and can at least rest in Grace.

2 thoughts on “teach your children well

Leave a Reply

