12 virgins & a Corvette [song]


I don’t know what it is, but I have been bitten by some kind of songwriting bug recently. And this bug is full of venom, and that venom causes me to get all creative up in here. So, I should hang out in the outdoors and linger near strange insects more, apparently.

Remember my last post? And the comment “If you repost this as your status, God will bless you with 12 Virgins and a Corvette”? Thanks to that witty repartee,  there is now a song of the same name. Consider yourselves blessed?

to offset the tongue-in-cheek nature of what you're about to read, a gentle reminder?

“12 Virgins and a Corvette”

(Beth Hopkins /Jonni Greth)

I know every last Commandment

All thirteen from stone to stone

And when it comes to sinnin’

I leave well enough alone

See, I only read the Gospel

And I never watch the news

I don’t need no President

I’ve got a king, just like the Jews

Chorus:

I’ll fight the fight and run the race

But folks, you ain’t seen nothing yet

Till I fly by you at the Pearly Gates

With 12 virgins in a red Corvette

Refrain:

Hallelujah,  Hallelujah, Hallelujah, Amen

Hallelujah,  Hallelujah, Hallelujah, Amen

 

I’ll send off to feed the poor

Then I’ll give up M&Ms

And put God in rock n’ roll songs

So they get changed into hymns

While I store up all my treasure

In an offshore bank account

Thank the Lord I’m not

Somebody with nothing figured out

Chorus:

I’ll fight the fight and run the race

Sister, you ain’t seen nothing yet

Till I fly by you at the Pearly Gates

With 12 virgins in a red Corvette

 

Refrain:

Hallelujah,  Hallelujah, Hallelujah, Amen

Hallelujah,  Hallelujah, Hallelujah, Amen


I’m a worker for the Lord

Every Sunday I clock in

Just put a dollar in the plate

He promises back ten

On that Final day of Glory

I won’t have to be afraid

Once He sees my pedigree

I just know I’ll have it made

Chorus:

I’ll fight the fight and run the race

Brother, you ain’t seen nothing yet

Till I fly by you at the Pearly Gates

With 12 virgins in a red Corvette

 

Refrain:

Hallelujah,  Hallelujah, Hallelujah, Amen

Hallelujah,  Hallelujah, Hallelujah, Amen


3 thoughts on “12 virgins & a Corvette [song]

  1. Pingback: i blame punk | In Case of Fire, Use Stairs

Leave a Reply

