as old as you feel


One of my favorite people blogged tonight about her upcoming birthday. It was a brilliant, admirable embrace of her age and stage in life. And if I wasn’t firmly against plagiarism in all its forms, I would be doing some major Command + A/C/V manuevers, respectively. Because I want to be there. I want to be in that magical land of contentment, optimism, and self-acceptance about all that I am and all that I will be. But I don’t think Hallmark will be knocking down my door for any greeting card slogans anytime soon.

What the heck is my problem, you ask?

Well, if you are ‘only’ as old as you feel, I am in trouble. I would loose my head if it wasn’t attached to my neck. I have said to my mom before on multiple occasions that I had better find 2 husbands and have at least 2 kids if any, just to have some backups on hand. I have misplaced my wallet at least twice in the past two months, and my check card additional times. I have lost countless phones, coats, gloves, hats, gifts, and keepsakes over the years. I am already at the stage where I go into the kitchen and forget why I did, only to go back to my room with my stomach growling or my throat parched.

NEVAHOn top of the hare-brained nature of my nuerons, there is the matter of my less-than-Governator Physique. It’s no secret that I am not in pique physical condition- I know, who is these days, but that’s not the point.

The point is that I still have a childlike heart and spirit that loves to play on swings and color and tell knock-knock jokes, but I am starting to wonder if I am going to be the first twenty-something to be declared downright-and-positively-clinically senile. I try to take care of myself and remain active, but there seems to be a constant Viva La Revolucion attitude when it comes to how my body and mind seem to turn against me.

I am not phobic of aging in general. I am not morbid or macabre, even though I cannot wait to see Jack Skellington the Pumpkin King don his Santa hat in the coming weeks. I think the stress of my life and my perceived imperfections at coping with and managing it is bothering me.

It’s probably nothing. I probably just need to say my prayers, chill out, and try to focus on one thing at a time. Or maybe I just need to lie down for a good night’s sleep to clear my head.

That should work great, as long as I don’t get overzealous and empty it out completely.

One thought on “as old as you feel

  1. I’ve “misplaced” things much of my life. Shoes, keys, credit cards, pocketbooks, etc. (Translation: lost them – never to be found again.) What is really bad is when I misplace stuff that belongs to other people. Just last month I misplaced a key my pastor allowed me to borrow.

    I tore my house up looking for it. About a week or so after it went AWOL, my hubby found it…on a dresser. It had been staring us both in the face the whole time. How many times had I looked at that thing?

    I’m almost 38 years old, so I can feel your pain! But the good news is this: I still love to color and play cards. I think going to the park rocks and reading picture books makes me smile.

    And while, losing my keys, shoes and other “stuff” is a nuisance, it’s much better than losing my mind! πŸ™‚ I’m so glad Jesus knows where I am all the time. Otherwise, I’d be WAY worse than I am! πŸ˜‰

    I also have the blessings of having kids who are able to keep with my stuff better than I can. My 6 year old can find my purse in 10 seconds flat. She should really get an extra pancake or two.

    Like

Leave a Reply

