weekend update


I started writing this post after a valiant struggle alongside my mother against one of society’s most boisterous demons: bureaucracy .

Turns out, health care is complicated. I have a disability and therefore receive a limited monthly income. So I have literally piles of mail regarding healthcare from everybody: the doctors, Social Security, Medicare, Medicaid, TennCare, and my dad’s insurance company. Let’s just hope I don’t get sick anytime soon. But if I do, and the doctor asks me what’s wrong, I will ask him for some form of card-like identification, along with the correct 13-digit number, and refer him to the 17 page mailing I sent to his home address- after asking for his mother’s neighbor’s maiden name for verification.

So, B-Rock, need some help with deciding how to tackle health care reform? Make it simpler. There now. Everyone can just calm down. Problem solved.

On to the important stuff.

ICFUS

  • I will still be interviewing Nashville band 20 Minutes to Park. We had to reschedule due to work and transportation issues, respectively. In the meantime, visit their site and listen to their tunes. That way you will be ready to fact-check me when the interview is reader-ready.
  • Also coming to ICFUS, my first art blog! Complete with a mini-interview. So get your temperas ready, baby! And put a call in to the Guggenheim while you’re at it.

The Year of the Uke (?)

  • Be not alarmed, it is still the Year. The Uke is living here happily and has been making friends with the softest, comfiest things in my room.
  • My rockin’ mom has helped me find some neat beginner materials, including some beginner Beatles songs- a precursor to the Beatles book I bought along with the uke. [A girl simply must be prepared.]
  • The Uke needs a proper name. I am thinking a male name. Other than that I got nothin’ and welcome your feedback. I will put a call out to my Facebook friends as well, and will report back with my decision. These things take time, you know. Not the kind of thing you want to just rush into.

and the BIG news:

  • Many of you have been asking after the children’s book manuscript. I am ecstatic to report that my connection with a major publishing company in Nashville may be fruitful- it is very likely tbat, if I can get it all dolled up, it will be reviewed  by the Children’s Editor of the company sometime this week. This is such a blessing and I am very hopeful and excited about it. Don’t get me wrong, it is intimidating and scary as anything! But I really believe that children of any age will be able to identify with the main character and the things he overcomes, so I am doing my best to remain optimistic for the book.

I will  be keeping everyone posted on these matters, particularly as related to the manuscript, as things develop. Thanks for being a part of my cheering section! I hear you loud and clear!

2 thoughts on “weekend update

  1. this is all really awesome, beth! i’m pumped for you! i wish i had a good uke name to suggest . . . crazy eyes killa is all that comes to mind . . . and that just doesn’t seem right. :-/

    Like

Leave a Reply

