carry moonbeams home in a jar?


“Would you like to swing on a star,
Carry moonbeams home in a jar,
And be better off than you are?
Or would you rather be a fish?”-

from “Swingin’ on a Star” (written by Burke/VanHuesen, made popular by Frank Sinatra)

I am very much a night owl. I find it easier to work at night, easier to focus – and I am generally more open to creative thinking as it gets later. It takes my insides much longer to wake up than my outsides.

One of the things I love best about night time is the stars. They have been a muse for us people-beings as long as they’ve been perched in the heavens. G*d numbers them and knows their names. They shine like a lover’s eyes. They mark the passage of centuries and the birth of kings. And they’re dang good for wishin’.

Wishing on stars is very romantic. Well, any kind of wishing is romantic. The idea that you can send a thought straight up to the cosmos just by thinking it- the ability to be freed from the constraints of rationalism when the clock strikes 11:11- there is something beautiful and bewitching about that.

I was talking to someone once about wishing, and she said the wishes we make are kind of like little prayers. Well, what if they weren’t kind of like that, but exactly like that? What if- when you wished for the phone to ring and it be someone special, or for the sky to rain jellybeans- you were actually petitioning the Divine?

I understand that many people find wishing superstitious- and not everyone who will read this is the praying kind. And that’s okay!  But everyone has wished. Every single person has hoped against hope for something that seems impossible to happen at some exact moment of his or her choosing.

Wishing connects us.

I love thinking about that- connectedness – how somewhere out there is another person thinking the same thing, wondering the same wonders, asking the same questions that I am. And I love being reminded that the world is bigger than just me and life is bigger than just this moment.

Wishing came up in conversation again last night- and I realized when I made my wish that wishes allow us to consider the impossible- to hope for the unimaginable- and with great enthusiasm. . . “Please. please, please!” we whisper. For one moment, in one tick of the clock, we have unreasonable, exuberant faith.

Children are very good at wishing- because they have that sort of faith all the time. When you are a child, nothing is impossible, whatever you are wishing for just hasn’t happened yet. Children don’t feel the need to explain, justify, or rationalize anything.

Last night, I got to thinking- there is no reason why I shouldn’t allow myself to think like that: on a clear night, when I see identical numbers on the clock face, or anytime. And that’s good news for a girl with a head full of aspirations and a hankering to own a tiny Hawaiian stringed instrument.

So clear your head, blow out some candles, synchronize your watches- and  take a moment to consider the impossible.

Think like a child. Close your eyes.  Make a wish.

Or would you rather be a fish?

7 thoughts on “carry moonbeams home in a jar?

  1. Oh my dear sweet dreaming Beth, I just LOVED this. It made my heart go all gooey and warm. It made me want to wish with childlike enthusiasm and lawdy knows, I gots lots to be wishing about!

    The first thing that came to my mind when reading this was the song “Impossible” from Rodgers & Hammerstein’s Cinderella.

    “But the world is full of zanies and fools
    Who don’t believe in sensible rules
    And won’t believe what sensible people say.
    And because these daft and dewey-eyed dopes keep building up impossible hopes,
    Impossible things are happening every day!”

    Sometimes I think we forget that relying on our inner child is actually healthy. Wishing, dreaming, hoping, and having faith that the universe will make it happen! If we could learn the balance between this and the focus, determination, & responsibility of adulthood, we could rule the world!!! 😉

    Like

  2. Thank you, dear!

    I also thought of Jack Johnson:
    “I been sittin, waitin’ wishin’
    you believed in superstition. . .”
    but I decided to go with Blue Eyes for my allusion instead!

    Thank you for your reminder, that is a great point!!
    Some balancing act, though!

    Like

  3. Beth!! I’m so excited someone else makes wishes when the clock says 5:55 or 11:11! I always send up little prayers when I catch the clock at those moments. I’m 28 and to this day continue to ditch the fish for a wish… Never stop dreaming girl…it’s what keeps us motivated!! I like how you tie in the Sinatra song into your writing and give due reference…you speak your heart, and hence give your audience a warm and uplifting energy.

    Like

  4. keith! lauren! thank you! your support is great! the love & support of others keeps me dreaming. (that’s my subtle way of saying you’re great- and that you should keep reading!- teehee!)

    Like

  5. Enjoyed reading your blog and I am glad read that others also believe that wishing can be a powerful tool and we are free to wish how we choose. You are right about thinking as a child, no limits or rules, just simply “put it out there.” I too started a blog http://www.wellmichele.wordpress.com and I am going to give wishing a try this year and see where it takes me. This should be fun, the hardest part will be not to try an plan things to make it happen, but rather put it out there and see what returns.

    Like

Leave a Reply

